Pharmacy Technician Frequently Asked Questions
What are the requirements for a Pharmaceutical Technician to be issued a certificate of registration?
A person applying for registration as a Pharmaceutical Technician must:
- Be 18 years of age or older;
- Be a high school graduate or the equivalent;
- Not have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor that involves moral turpitude, dishonesty or the unlawful possession, sale or use of drugs;
- Have no history of drug abuse; and
- Have complied with one of the following requirements:
- Is licensed or registered as a pharmaceutical technician in a state that licenses or registers pharmaceutical technicians;
- Completed 1,500 hours in Nevada as a registered pharmaceutical technician-in-training;
- Graduated from a school accredited by the American Society of Healthsystem Pharmacists (ASHP) and have completed 350 hours in Nevada as a registered pharmaceutical technician-in-training; or
- Graduated from a school in another state that is not accredited by ASHP and have passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board’s (PTCB) national examination.
What are the duties of a Pharmaceutical Technician?
Under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, a Pharmaceutical Technician may:
- Repackage and label unit dose and unit of use, and repackage drugs;
- Prepare, package, compound and label prescription drugs that pertain to prescriptions;
- Mix drugs with parenteral fluids;
- Prepare bulk compounds;
- Distribute routine orders and stock medications and supplies in the pharmacy or areas where care is provided to patients;
- Maintain inventories of supplies of drugs;
- Maintain pharmaceutical records;
- Request authorization to refill a prescription from the prescribing practitioner; and
- Transfer a prescription though a computer network under certain circumstances.
What duties or tasks may not be performed by a Pharmaceutical Technician?
A Pharmaceutical Technician may not:
- Perform an action that requires a judgmental decision regarding;
- A drug;
- The interpretation of a prescription; OR
- The instructions for the preparation of a prescription;
- Take a new prescription or chart orders over the telephone; and
- Distribute medications that;
- Pertain to a chart order; OR
- Dispense a prescription unless the order or prescription has been verified by a pharmacist.
How many Pharmaceutical Technicians are allowed for each pharmacist on duty?
The ratio of pharmaceutical technicians to pharmacists cannot exceed three to one. Pharmaceutical technicians-in-training count against this ratio, but interns do not.
Does a Pharmaceutical Technician need CE?
No. Instead, pharmaceutical technicians are required to have 12 hours of in-service training every two-year period between renewals, however as part of their hours earned they are required to obtain 1 hour of an approved Nevada Law credit. The pharmacy employing a technician must make and maintain records of the hours of in-service training provided by the pharmacy and verified by the managing pharmacist. A pharmacy may authorize as part of its in-service training that a pharmaceutical technician’s attendance at a CE will count as hours of in-service training. The records must be kept on the pharmacy’s premises and will be reviewed by the Board’s inspector during the annual inspection of the pharmacy.