

# Roseman University of Health Sciences CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION PROGRAM Nevada Pharmacy Law

# WEDNESDAY,

September 19, 2012 11 Sunset Way Henderson, Nevada 89014

# WEDNESDAY,

October 10, 2012 Teleconference

## WEDNESDAY,

October 24, 2012 11 Sunset Way Henderson, Nevada 89014

### **SCHEDULE**

6:30 – 7:00 Registration and light refreshments

7:00 - 8:00 Nevada Pharmacy Law

**ACTIVITY FEE:** \$25.00

# **SPEAKER**

Luis Curras, R.Ph.
Inspector
Nevada State Board of Pharmacy

### LEARNING OBJECTIVES

Nevada Pharmacy Law (0.1 CEU)

- 1. Apply pharmacy laws regarding expiration date labeling requirements for prescriptions dispensed in the community setting.
- 2. Identify situations in which information in a schedule II prescription cannot legally be changed.
- **3.** Recognize situations which meet legal requirements for patient counseling in Nevada.
- **4.** Recognize proper procedures for reporting personnel and training records with the Board of Pharmacy.
- **5.** Apply proper procedures for handling electronic prescriptions.
- **6.** Recognize proper procedures for the storage and monitoring of refrigerated prescription products with emphasis on proper settings.
- 7. Identify those who need to comply with USP 795 and USP 797 standards in their pharmacy operations.

**Target audience:** Pharmacists and technicians practicing in Nevada who wish to meet their law-specific CE requirements. The activity will primarily focus on community pharmacy practice.

No outside funding has been provided for this activity.

Register online at **www.regonline.com/nvpharmlaw12** to pay by credit card. To register by mail, please contact Latoya Conners at 702–968-2086, lconners@roseman.edu to request a registration form.

The content of Nevada Pharmacy Law changes in content no more frequently than every 2 years; all Nevada Pharmacy Law activities offered by RU from March 2012 — October 2013 will be the same. Participants may receive credit for this activity only once during this time period.

Participants may also register on site on the day of the program, subject to space limitations. These activities, especially teleconferences, often reach capacity. Regarding cancellations, greater than 10 days before the scheduled activity, full refunds may be issued minus a 20% administrative fee. Less than or equal to 10 days before the scheduled activity, no refund will be issued.

Statements of credit will be mailed or emailed to participants no later than 30 days after the completion of the activity.

### For information about future programs, please contact:

Katherine P. Smith, Pharm.D, BCPS Director of Continuing Education Phone: 801-878-1079 Email: ksmith@roseman.edu



Roseman University College of Pharmacy is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as a Provider of continuing Poharmacy education. Nevada Pharmacy Law

provides 1.0 hour (0.1 CEU) of knowledge-based continuing education credit (ACPE program numbers 0455-0000-12-003-L03-P; 0455-0000-12-003-L03-T) after successful completion of a post-test at the minimum proficiency level and the program evaluation. First accredited program offering: March 28, 2012

ROSEMAN UNIVERSITY OF HEALTH SCIENCES A Nevada Non-Profit Corporation 11 Sunset Way Henderson, NV 89014-2333

NON-PROFIT
U.S. POSTAGE
PAID
LAS VEGAS NV
PERMIT NO. 1840