NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

OFFICE OF THE GENERAL COUNSEL

WRITER'S DIRECT DiaL: (775) 850-1440 - E-MAIL: PEDWARDS@PHARMACY.NV.GOV « FAX:(775) 850-1444

December 15, 2015

VIA CERTIFIED U.S. MAIL AND ELECTRONIC MAIL
Mary Susan Emerson

2616 Tumble Brook Dr.

Las Vegas, NV §9134

Re:  CEASE AND DESIST ORDER WITH CITATION FOR UNLICENSED
PRESCRIBING

Dear Ms. Emerson:

As you know, the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy (Board) is aware that you, for a time,
were prescribing controlled substances for Nevada patients without a Controlled Substance
Registration. Under Nevada law, specifically NRS 453.220, a practitioner imay not prescribe
controlled substances without first registering with the Board of Pharmacy.

NRS 453.226 Requirements for registration; authority of registrant; exemptions
and waivers; inspections.

1. Every practitioner or other person who dispenses any controlled substance within
this State or who proposes 1o engage in the dispensing of any controlled substance within
this State shall obtain biennially a registration issued by the Board in accordance with its
regulations.

As used in the statute, the term “dispense” includes prescribing:
NRS 453.056 “Dispensc” defined.

1. ...“dispense” means to deliver a controlled substance to an ultimate user, patient
or research subject by or pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the
prescribing. administering. packaging, labeling or compounding necessary to prepare the
substance for that delivery.



Additionally, you should be aware that prescribing without being properly registered is a
felony under NRS 453.232: “A person who dispenses a controlled substance without being
registered by the Board if required by NRS 453.231 is guilty of a category D felony . .. .”

It is my understanding that you have already stopped prescribing controlled substances.
Nonetheless, this letter shall serve as an order to CEASE and DESIST, immediately, that
practice. You may not resume that activity until you submit an application to the Board of
Pharmacy for a Controlled Substance Registration and such application is approved, if the Board
so chooses.

Secondly, this letter shall serve as a CITATION pursuant to NRS 639.2895(2), citing you
for practicing without being properly licensed. In association with that citation, the Board is
assessing an administrative fine of $2,000.00. You shall pay this administrative fine within thirty
(30) days of receipt of this citation. Payment must be by cashier s check, certified check or
money order made payable to the “Nevada State Board of Pharmacy.” Send payment to the
Board’s Reno office located at 431 W. Plumb Lane, Reno, NV 89509.

You have the right to appeal this citation. See NRS 639.2895(2). If you choose to
appeal, you must submit a written request for a hearing to the Board not later than 30 days after
receipt of this Citation.

Please be aware that the forgoing Order and Citation, and any hearing held to review the
Citation, if you so request, do not take the place of a hearing before the Board to determine
whether the Board will grant your Application for a Controlled Substance Registration.

Feel free to contact me if you have questions.

Best regards,

A@W

S. Paul Edwards
General Counsel
Nevada State Board of Pharmacy

Cc:  Larry Pinson, Executive Secretary of the Nevada Board of Pharmacy



NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
431 W Plumb Lane — Reno, NV 89509

APPLICATION FOR ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE « PRESCRIBE
REGISTRATION FEE: $80.00 (non-refundable money order only, no cash)

Fist.  MAAY Middle: SusAan/ last EMELSoAS

Home Address: 2631 TumBLE BRook DR.

City: Khs VEGAS State: /\/ 14 Zip Code: €34
ss# _ , Date of Birth: "7 sex o Mor iyF
Telephone: 218 O OS50S E-mail address: )

Board of Nursing APRN Certificate #: QOO | 4R (o lssued: 08-23-JoldExpires: 08-33-257¢ -

PRACTICING LOCATION (Required)
Practice Name (if any): _ CARE MoRrE

Physical Address: 2041 _E. Fhamunéo Rp sute #: A
City: L-AS VEGAS State: AV Zip Code: 87 1 &\
Telephone: 7102 426 0€35 Fax: 702 - 473 - (0S8

Yes No

Been diagnosed or treated for any mental iliness, including alcohol or substance abuse, or

Physical condition that would impair your ability to perform the essential functions of your license?................. R’
1. Been charged, arrested or convicted of a felony or misdemeanorin any state?.................
2. Been the subject of a board citation, administrative action whether completed or pending in any state?........................... EI §
3. Had your license subjected to any discipline for violation of pharmacy or drug laws in any state?.................
If you marked YES to any of the numbered questions (1-3) above, include the following information & provide an explanatlon &

documentation:

Board Administrative State Date: Case #:
Action:
[/
Criminal State Date: Case #: County Court
Action: /o

It is a violation of Nevada law to falsify this application and sanctions will be imposed for misrepresentation. |
hereby certify that | have read this application. | certify that all statements made are true and correct.

| understand that Nevada law requires a licensed APRN who, in their professional or occupational capacity, comes to
know or has reasonable cause to believe, a child has been abused/negiectad, to report the abuse/neglect to an
agency which provides child welfare services or to a local law enforcement agency.

_Q( By checking this box. no collaborating physician is required per my Nursing Board license

YV\OJW /\.)MM (Qmuwau__ 0S5 -R5-2015

Original Sida’ature of APRN, no copies or stamps accepted Date

COLLABORATING PHYSICIAN’s name (If required):

Original Signature of Supervising Physician, no copies or stamps accepted Date 8 %4 !

[ Board Use Only: Date Processed lo AlIS Amount_ $80.00




Display License Info rage 101 1

Name: MARY SUSAN EMERSON
License Num ber: APRN001486
License Type: ADV PRACTICE REG NURSE
Original NV Issue Date: 02/01/2013

Print This License

LICENSE STATUS

Status: ACTIVE
Expiration Date: 08/23/2016
Discipline Against Nurse: NO
Collaborating Physician: Display info

APRN STATUS LEGEND

ACTIVE is the status ascribed to APRNs who meet the requirements far licensure.
but do not mee! the requirements for prescribing privieges

ACTIVE PRESCRIBING is the status that all APRNs who qualify 1o prescribe wilf be
given at the onset of licensure with the NSBN. This status allows the APRN to
prescribe all legend drugs and may include schedule #II-V controlled substances
if they have provided us with their current DEA number.

ACTIVE PRESCRIBING-CII is the status that APRNs are given when they have pronded
us with their current DEA number showing the CII-V designation, and have
practiced for longer than 2 years or 2000 hours

ACTIVE PRESCRIBING-CHI-COLL is the status that APRNs are given when they have
provided us with their current DEA number showing the CII-V designation,
have practiced fess than 2 years or 2000 hours, and have provided the
NSBN a copy of their collaborative agreement with a physican

ADDITIONAL LICENSES

License Type: REGISTERED NURSE
License #: RN73193

Status: ACTIVE

Original NV {ssue Date: 09/10/2012
Expiration Date: 08/23/2016
License Ty pe: TEMP RN

License #: TRN334861
Status: LAPSED/EXPIRED
Original NV I ssue Date: 08/20/2012
Expiration Date: 10/08/2012
License Ty pe: TEMP APRN
License #: TAPN700843
Status: LAPSED/EXPIRED
Original NV | ssue Date: 10/08/2012
Expiration Date: 02/02/2013

Begin a New Search

Return to Results

@ Return to NSBN Home Page

http://www.nursingboard.state.nv.us/nvbonveriﬁcation/DisplayLicense.aspx?LicenseID=23 ... 6/8/2015



