TEMPORARY LICENSES
(Issued since last board meeting)

CVS

Brian Cook
Judy Lee



Nevada State Board of Pharmacy

431 W. PLUMB LANE e RENO, NEVADA 89509
(775) 850-1440 ¢ 1-800-364-2081 <« FAX (775) 850-1444
£-mail: pharmacy@pharmacy.nv.gov * Websile: bop.nv.gov

NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
ACTIVITIES REPORT
MARCH 2, 2016 BOARD MEETING HELD IN RENO, NEVADA

This report is prepared and presented to keep interested legislators and others abreast of the
activities of the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy. Following is a summary of the March, 2016

Board meeting.
Licensing Activity:

- 6 licenses were granted for Out-of-State MDEG (Medical Devices, Equipment and
Gases) companies.

- 1 license were granted for Nevada MDEG companies.

. 19 licenses were granted for Out-of-State pharmacies, pending receipt of a favorable
inspection for all compounding pharmacies.

. 20 licenses were granted for Out-of-State wholesalers.

. 6 licenses were granted for Nevada pharmacies.

. 1 license was granted for a Nevada wholesaler.

- 1 license was granted for renewal of a pharmacist license pending successful
completion of the PARE exam; psychological reports; and the reporting of pending
action in California.

. 1 license to reciprocate to Nevada was tabled until the applicant can pass
competency exams.

- 1 license for prescriptive authority for an APRN and one for a physician wishing to
dispense were granted after satisfactorily answering questions regarding their non-
licensed prescribing and dispensing.

. 1license was granted for controlled substances for a physician with past cocaine
abuse issues (applicant is in after-care; is drug tested routinely and is under

preceptorship).
Disciplinary Actions:

« Pharmaceutical technicians JW and CH and were revoked for diversion of controlled
substances and dangerous drugs for personal use from a pharmacy.

« Pharmacist PB and pharmacist GG were fined $995 and $1495 respectively and ordered
4 hours of extra CE for dispensing the wrong medication to a patient. Pharmacy OC
was fined $1495 and ordered corrective action.

. MDEG VG was fined $1000 plus $495 admin fees for sending out an improperly set
CPAP machine to a patient. The respiratory therapist (RT) who did the settings was
referred to the Medical Board for discipline (his licensing board). VC was ordered to
develop better policies and procedures for such activity to prevent further incidents.



Other Activity:

The usual Board business reports were given, including recent and future speaking
engagements; reports on national meetings; and collaboration with other state
agencies.

The Board audit was reviewed with the Board by the auditing firm.

Approval of a Medication Management Program was granted to a pharmacist & her
company.

Approval was granted for a computer transfer system to pharmacy DP.

WORKSHOP:

A

Amendment of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 639.955
Imposition of fines; authority to take disciplinary action. The
proposed amendment imposes fines for not transmitting information
regarding the dispensing of controlled substances.

Amendment of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 639.921 Sharing
information between systems: Conditions and requirements. The
proposed amendment would allow for the sharing of information between
two or more pharmacies that are commonly owned or contractually
related.



