OFFICE OF THE GENERAL COUNSEL

NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

WRITER'S DIRECT DIAL: (775) 850-1440 • E-MAIL: PEDWARDS@PHARMACY.NV.GOV • FAX: (775) 850-1444

April 17, 2018

CERTIFIED U.S. MAIL

Chelsea Rene Flores 4880 E. Charleston Blvd. #10 Las Vegas, Nevada 89104

RE: Notice of Denial of Pharmaceutical Technician in Training Application

Dear Ms. Flores:

On April 11, 2018, the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy ("Board") considered and denied your *Pharmaceutical Technician in Training Application* ("Application"). This letter shall serve as written notice of the Board's decision.

The Board's primary reason for denying your application is your unlawful use of marijuana, which you admit occurred while you were on a break at your pharmaceutical technician school. The Board provided you the opportunity to appear before it on April 11 to discuss the matter, but you failed to appear. With your admissions, and absent your presentation of any mitigating factors, the Board denied your application out of concern for safety and the public interest.

Nevada law, NRS 639.210, states that "[t]he Board may . . . deny the application of any person for a certificate, license, registration or permit, if the holder or applicant":

- "[i]s not of good moral character;"
- "[is] guilty of unprofessional conduct or conduct contrary to the public interest;"

or

• "[h]as violated any provision of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act or any other federal law or regulation relating to prescription drugs." Each of those factors apply to the circumstances put before the Board with your application.

You have the right under NRS 639.139 to petition the Board for reconsideration of your Application. The statute provides in relevant part:

NRS 639.139 Denial of application: Procedure for reconsideration.

1. At any time within 30 days after receipt of the notice of denial of an application, the applicant may petition the Board for reconsideration of the application. The petition must set forth a denial, in whole or in part, of the violations alleged and a statement that the applicant is prepared to submit evidence in support of the denial of the allegations.

. . . .

(Emphasis added.)

If you opt to exercise your right to petition the Board for reconsideration, please submit that petition and all supporting evidence you wish to present to the Board's offices at 431 W. Plumb Lane, Reno, Nevada 89509, within thirty (30) days of receipt of this notice.

Please feel free to contact me if you have questions.

Best regards,

2 Edwads

S. Paul Edwards General Counsel Nevada State Board of Pharmacy

DT20618

NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 431 W Plumb Lane ≈ Reno, NV 89509 PHARMACEUTICAL TECHNICIAN IN TRAINING APPLICATION Registration Fee: <u>\$40.00</u> - (non-refundable money order only, no cash)

Complete Name (no abbreviations):

First: ()	<u>lelsea</u>		Middle: Rene		Last: Flores	
Home Add	iress;	E-1	Charleston		Apt #: 10	
City: Lo	as Meach				Zip Code: 89104	
	:		Social	Security Number		
-	rth:	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	Place of Birth:	-	Sex: 🗆 M or ØF	
E-mail Ad					Sex. LI WI OI KIA-	
A licensee is not required to have a Nevada State Business License, however, if you, personally, have one, please						
provide the number:						
l am regu	estina reaistra	tion at the foll	owing pharmacy:			
	t		_	CONFRE	Store #:	
			RANCH RUP			
	LAS VE				Zip Code: 89128	
Signature of Managing Pharmacist:						
(Without the signature of the managing pharmacist, the application will be returned.)						
	18 years of ag		e sub calanto			
(IF YOU A	NSWERED "N	graduate or the O" TO QUEST	equivalent?	U CAN NOT SUB	Yes X No 🗆	
Yes No						
Been diagnosed or treated for any mental illness, including alcohol or substance abuse, or						
Physical condition that would impair your ability to perform the essential functions of your license? Image: Condition that would impair your ability to perform the essential functions of your license? 3. Been charged, arrested or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in any state? Image: Condition that would impair your ability to perform the essential functions of your license?						
4. Been the subject of a board citation or an administrative action whether completed or pending in any state?						
5. Had your license subjected to any discipline for violation of pharmacy or drug laws in any state?						
If you marked YES to any of the numbered questions (3-5) above, include the following information & provide an explanation &						
documentation:						
Board Adr Action:	ninistrative	State	Date:		Case #:	
Action:			1 1			
Criminal	State	Date:	Case #:	County	Court	
Action:	1	1				
The Nevada Legislature requires that we include the following questions as part of all applications (NRS639.129)						
Yes No						
Are you the subject of a court order for the support of a child?						
IF you marked YES to the question, above are you in compliance with the court order?						
pharmaceutical technicians and understand that a violation of any such statutes, rules and regulations may be grounds for suspension or revocation of this						
permit. I understand that Nevada law requires a licensed PTT who, in their professional or occupational capacity, comes to know or has reasonable cause to						
believe, a child has been abused/neglected, to report the abuse/neglect to an agency which provides child welfare services or to a local law enforcement agency.						
Chilsen Reneflecter Jan 30,2018						
Original Signature, no copies or stamps accepted Date						